Skycast X

Statistical Areas

You will see references to these statistical areas throughout Metro Dataline.  

Read more about the American Community Survey»

Kansas City Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA)

MSA 2003

In February 2013, the MSA changed from a 15-county area to 14 since Franklin County was dropped.

PDF map of Kansas City, MO-KS, Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA)

Through the 2000 Census, this area was composed of 11 counties:

  • Cass County, Mo.
  • Clay County, Mo.
  • Clinton County, Mo.
  • Jackson County, Mo.
  • Johnson County, Kan.
  • Lafayette County, Mo.
  • Leavenworth County, Kan.
  • Miami County, Kan.
  • Platte County, Mo.
  • Ray County, Mo.
  • Wyandotte County, Kan.

In June 2003, the US Office of Management and Budget added the following counties:

  • Bates County, Mo.
  • Caldwell County, Mo.
  • Franklin County, Kan.
  • Linn County, Kan.

2013 CSA


Kansas City-Overland Park-Kansas City Combined Statistical Area (CSA)

In February 2013, the CSA (Kansas City-Overland Park-Kansas City MO-KS Combined Statistical Area) gained the following five counties and is now a 22-county area:

  • Douglas County (Lawrence, KS MSA)
  • Andrew County MO, Buchanan County MO, DeKalb County MO, and Doniphan County KS (St. Joseph, MO-KS MSA)

PDF map of Kansas City-Overland Park-Kansas City Combined Statistical Area



MARC Region

MARC RegionMARC functions as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for greater Kansas City. The planning boundary does not extend to the entire MARC region and several MARC member counties are only partially within this boundary, so separate or overlay maps and data sets are often created for this area.

The Mid-America Regional Council is composed of nine counties and 119 cities and towns in the Kansas City region. 

Not all the counties in the MSA, or CSA, nor Douglas County are MARC members. However, we include their maps and data because many researchers and planners have an interest in the entire region.

Peer Metros

Some data sets on Metro Dataline include information about “peer” metros to enable us to better measure our progress. With our current work on KC Rising, our past definition of 13 peer metros expanded to these metro areas:
Austin, Baltimore, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Denver, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Las Vegas, Louisville, Memphis, Milwaukee, Minneapolis, Nashville, Oklahoma City, Orlando, Pittsburgh, Portland, Providence, Raleigh, Richmond, Sacramento, San Antonio, San Diego, San Jose, Seattle, St. Louis, Tampa, and Virginia Beach.