

Overview

- Update is required every 10 years following Federal census.
- Requires collaboration between States, MPOs and affected local governments.
- All urban areas identified by the census must be included in the FHWAadjusted urban areas but FHWA-adjusted urban area may include additional areas per local input.
- FHWA funding amounts allocated to region are based on population inside adjusted urban area.
- Impacts urban verses rural designations for roadway functional classification.





Summary of Key Changes

- Incorporation of areas within Basehor, Leavenworth County, and Loch Lloyd within the Kansas City FHWA-Adjusted Urban Area
- 2. New Tonganoxie FHWA-Adjusted Urban Area
- New Spring Hill FHWA-Adjusted Urban Area
- 4. New Smithville FHWA-Adjusted Urban Area

Proposed boundaries developed with input from these local jurisdictions.





<u>Summary of Minor Modifications to</u> <u>Existing Boundaries</u>

Minor modifications are being proposed in these three areas per FHWA guidance that the FHWA Adjusted Urban Boundary follow physical features (e.g., rivers, streams, irrigation canals, transmission lines, railroads, streets or highways):

- 1. Leavenworth
- Kansas City Area (within Edgerton and Peculiar)
- 3. Paola
- 4. Harrisonville
- 5. Pleasant Hill

No concerns received from local jurisdictions.



Recommendation

Approve changes to Federal Highway Administration's Adjusted Urban Area within Mid-America Regional Council's Metropolitan Planning Boundary.