#### SUSTAINABLE PLACES POLICY COMMITTEE

## March 10, 2023 Meeting Summary

## **Committee Members**

Councilmember Logan Heley, City of Overland Park, Kansas Co-chair Mayor Dean Katerndahl, City of Parkville, Missouri Co-chair Brian Alferman, Johnson County, KS Jon Birkel, Hunt Midwest Michael Frisch, UMKC Michael Park, City of Lee's Summit Melissa Schmitz, MoDOT Allison Smith, KDOT Maddie Waldeck, City of Basehor Jeffrey Williams, City of Kansas City, MO

## Guests

Krystal Jolly, MoDOT Karie Kneller, City of Mission Brandon Mills, City of De Soto Krystal Voth, City of Basehor

### **MARC Staff Present**

Ron Achelpohl, Megan Broll, Karen Clawson, Taylor Cunningham, Beth Dawson, Tom Jacobs, Marlene Nagel

### **Welcome and Introductions**

Kansas Co-chair Councilmember Logan Heley called the meeting to order. Introductions inperson and online followed.

# Approval of January 13, 2022 Meeting Summary\*

There were no edits or corrections to the meeting summary. Brian Alferman motioned to accept the meeting summary, and Missouri Co-Chair Mayor Dean Katerndahl seconded the motion. Jon Birkel abstained from the vote, and none opposed. The motion passed and the meeting summary was approved.

### **Carbon Reduction Programming Item**

Karen Clawson, MARC Air Quality Program Manager and Principal Planner presented on the 2023 Carbon Reduction Plan (CRP) Call For Projects. This is a new program made available to transportation-related projects by the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law (BIL). The Kansas City region was awarded \$23.5million over five years: the first three years of programming (\$14m in funds for FY 2022-2024) will take place this year, and the remaining funds will be programmed in 2024. Funds favor implementation activities, but advanced planning to leverage additional