Skycast X

Educational Services

Mid-America Head Start (MAHS) has identified goals for promoting the school readiness of young children. The goals are organized around five essential domains of early learning and development:

  • Physical Development and Health.

  • Social and Emotional Development.

  • Approaches to Learning.

  • Language and Literacy.

  • Cognition and General Knowledge.

Teaching staff provide learning experiences that accomodate individual children’s interests, rates of development, linguistic and cultural backgrounds and learning styles.

MAHS educators observe children as they engage in learning experiences and assess their progress toward school readiness goals. Parents also partner with staff to set goals for ongoing learning and development. Child-outcomes data is aggregated three times each year and used for continuous program improvement planning.