MARC Board of Directors elects new officers

Jan 24, 2023
| Posted in
Passing of the gavel from Harold Johnson, Jr. to Carson Ross

Carson Ross, mayor of Blue Springs, Missouri, was elected chair at the Jan. 24 Board meeting. He replaces Harold Johnson Jr., commissioner for the Unified Government of Wyandotte County and Kansas City, Kansas, who served as chair for the past two years.

Mayor Ross joined the MARC Board in 2015. He was elected secretary in 2018 and first vice chair in 2021. Mayor Ross is also active on the MARC Total Transportation Policy Committee and has served as the Missouri co-chair since 2015. A Blue Springs resident for more than 49 years, he was elected mayor in 2008. Prior to that, he served a total of 14 years in the Missouri House of Representatives. Mayor Ross also supports his community and the region through roles on numerous boards, commissions and community initiatives.

Headshot of Blue Springs Mayor Carson Ross
Mayor Carson Ross

“I am honored to serve as the chair of the MARC Board of Directors. In our region, we have a tradition of working across jurisdictional boundaries on issues of importance. The MARC Board provides an important opportunity to coordinate and partner with elected officials from across the Kansas City metropolitan area. I look forward to continuing to serve the region and its residents through this role.”

Carson Ross, Mayor of Blue Springs, Missouri

Other officers elected at the meeting include:

  • First Vice Chair — Commissioner Janeé Hanzlick, Johnson County, Kansas
  • Second Vice Chair — Mayor Pro Tem Beto Lopez, Lee’s Summit, Missouri
  • Treasurer — Mayor Damien Boley, Smithville, Missouri
  • Secretary — Councilmember Holly Grummert, Overland Park, Kansas

Learn more about the MARC Board of Directors.